The Enjoyment of Music: Essential Listening Edition (Mixed media product)

The Enjoyment of Music: Essential Listening Edition Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Out of Print


Teaches the essential skills that students need to listen to, understand, and enjoy music.

The Enjoyment of Music: Essential Listening Edition combines powerful listening tools, rich resources, and flexible organization—everything needed for an involved listening experience—in a compact and affordable package. The Third Edition is strengthened with new features that focus listening on music's expressive qualities.

About the Author

Kristine Forney has been a member of the Music History/Musicology faculty at California State University, Long Beach, since 1978. She specializes in Renaissance music, is a performer and teacher of historical instruments, and is the author of numerous scholarly articles exploring diverse facets of Renaissance musical life and practices. She has taught music appreciation to thousands of undergraduate students, and has been an author of The Enjoyment of Music since 1988.

Andrew Dell'Antonio is Distinguished Teaching Professor of Music at the University of Texas at Austin. Winner of the University of Texas Regents' Outstanding Teaching Award, he teaches courses in musical historiography, feminist/queer theory, and cultural studies. Dell'Antonio is a specialist in musical repertories of early modern Europe, and his recent work investigates topics as diverse as postmodern modes of hearing and changing listening practices in the early Italian Baroque.

The late Joseph Machlis was professor of music at Queens College of the City University of New York. Among his many publications are Introduction to Contemporary Music (Norton) and singing translations for many operas.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780393602517
ISBN-10: 0393602516
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Publication Date: September 28th, 2016
Pages: 432
Language: English