A for Effort (Paperback)

A for Effort By Jarad Greene, Jarad Greene (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jarad Greene, Jarad Greene (Illustrator)
$15.99
Should Be On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Jul 12 8:08am
(ZJ 09-12 Middle Grades)

Description


The next semiautobiographical graphic novel from Jarad Greene continues to follow Jay, this time as he faces his freshman year of high school—and a whole new world of friendships, self-discovery, and stress about the future.

The start of Jay’s freshman year is full of new things . . . New friends. New classes. New challenges.

All of which are expected, until his new friend group’s obsession with perfect grades puts the pressure on—especially when his best subject, art, is full. Without it to anchor him, Jay hopes theater class will be the easy A he’s looking for. But when the class begins, Jay finds himself struggling like never before. Turns out balancing Shakespeare with biology and geometry is a lot harder than he thought. Will Jay be able to step into the spotlight and deliver an A+ performance? 

Perfect for readers of Yehudi Mercado and Rachel Elliott, A for Effort’s refreshingly witty and honest story is a heartfelt exploration of how it’s not always the outcome but the journey itself that truly matters. 

About the Author


Jarad Greene is a cartoonist originally from Lutz, Florida, who now lives in the curious village of White River Junction, Vermont. In addition to his own comics, Jarad works on staff at the Center for Cartoon Studies and has helped color many graphic novels for younger readers. He is also the author and illustrator of the graphic novel Scullion: A Dishwasher’s Guide to Mistaken Identity. Find him online at www.jaradgreene.com.



Jarad Greene is a cartoonist originally from Lutz, Florida, who now lives in the curious village of White River Junction, Vermont. In addition to his own comics, Jarad works on staff at the Center for Cartoon Studies and has helped color many graphic novels for younger readers. He is also the author and illustrator of the graphic novel Scullion: A Dishwasher’s Guide to Mistaken Identity. Find him online at www.jaradgreene.com.

Praise For…


“A vulnerable and encouraging school drama.” — Kirkus Reviews

“A relatable story about a shy, awkward kid coming out of his shell and finding his crowd, this is also a bit of a love letter to the community and camaraderie of youth theater.” — Horn Book Magazine

A compelling depiction of teenage uncertainty. — Kirkus Reviews

A story about kids learning to feel good about themselves on their own terms is no small thing, and Jay is a low-key, lovely protagonist. Greene’s simple, bubbly color illustrations are friendly and accessible, matching the content perfectly. An earnest exploration of adolescence, recognizable and relevant to middle schoolers coming into their own. — School Library Journal

Jay’s arc is distinct and refreshing, and the story’s emphasis on friendships and body image issues is likely to resonate with any reader who has wished to jump out of their skin. — Publishers Weekly

Greene’s use of color, line, and composition in his comic-panel layouts enhances the humor and angst of this particular slice of adolescent life. — The Horn Book

Supported by expressive, well-drawn, and colorful illustrations, this compelling graphic novel will appeal to fans of middle-grade graphic memoirs. — Booklist

Product Details
ISBN: 9780063032873
ISBN-10: 0063032872
Publisher: HarperAlley
Publication Date: March 5th, 2024
Pages: 224
Language: English