Amari and the Despicable Wonders (Supernatural Investigations #3) (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Amari and the Despicable Wonders (Supernatural Investigations #3) By B. B. Alston Cover Image
$19.99
Future Release

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the Supernatural Investigations series.

Description


The highly anticipated third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Supernatural Investigations series that began with Amari and the Night Brothers

Perfect for fans of Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, and Nevermoor.

War has come to the supernatural world, and Amari’s two worst enemies are leading the charge.

Elaine Harlowe has manipulated her way into becoming prime minister, using her mind control ability to force the Bureau to take up her vicious grudge against magiciankind. Meanwhile, Dylan Van Helsing, the newly crowned leader of the League of Magicians—and Amari’s former partner—is after a destructive new power that would not only ensure the magicians’ victory . . . it would make him invincible.

With neither the Bureau nor the League safe for Amari, and her newly returned brother, Quinton, determined to keep her out of the fray, she and her friends decide to find a way to end the war on their own.

So when they learn that the only way to stop Dylan is to find powerful magical inventions known as Wonders, they go after them. But wielding these items comes at a terrible cost, and Amari will have to decide just how much she’s willing to sacrifice . . . because the Despicable Wonders will demand everything.

About the Author


B. B. Alston lives in Chapin, South Carolina. His debut novel, Amari and the Night Brothers, was a #1 Kids’ Indie Next pick and the winner of Barnes & Noble’s inaugural Children’s and YA Book Award as well as a New York Times and indie bestseller. When not writing, he can be found eating too many sweets and exploring country roads to see where they lead. Visit him online at bbalston.com.

Praise For…


Praise for AMARI AND THE GREAT GAME: "Fans of the first book will jump at the opportunity to immerse themselves once again in the delights and surprises of this magical world, filled with equal parts wonder and suspense." — School Library Journal

Praise for AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: “An enchanting fantasy adventure filled with heart and soul. Amari is magical!” — Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of THE HATE U GIVE

Praise for AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: “As a former black girl misfit who wanted nothing more in the world than to be magical, this book is a song to my soul. Amari is the heroine we all need.” — Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of DEAR MARTIN

Praise for AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: “Sharp, funny and brightly imaginative--a big adventure filled with magic and heart.” — Jessica Townsend, New York Times bestselling author of the Nevermoor series

Praise for AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: "Clever, imaginative, and filled with heart. I loved every magical page." — J.C. Cervantes, New York Times bestselling author of THE STORM RUNNER

Praise for AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: "The surprises and story never slow down for a minute in this magical, astonishing world, with a heroine who’s like Buffy meets Meg Murry multiplied by Shuri to the power of awesome. I want to live in Amari’s world and watch her save it (or have her come here and save ours!)!" — Tui Sutherland, bestselling author of the Wings of Fire series

Praise for AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: “In this thrilling debut, Alston thrusts his intrepid heroine into a setting packed with magic, mythical creatures, and danger. Amari, a Black girl with limited means, confronts privilege and prejudice even while delving into a world of wonder, humor, and adventure, making this a sure-to-please winner.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Praise for AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: “This series debut is sure to be a hit with late elementary students and middle graders who are fans of “Harry Potter,” “Percy Jackson,” and the Men in Black movies….An excellent middle grade fantasy that will attract an immediate fan base and leave kids eager for more.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

Praise for AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: “The author weaves magical whimsy with honest, realistically portrayed circumstances, allowing Amari’s literal #BlackGirlMagic to shine even when she doesn’t believe in herself. This timely, energetic, first-person narrative moves quickly with clear descriptions, a thrilling buildup, and strong messages about profiling. An impressive debut series opener.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Praise for AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: “Fast-paced adventure and cutthroat pre-adolescent contempt make for a delightfully challenging journey here, particularly considering the ways that Alston frames Amari’s racial and economic experiences as a Black girl as the root of her strong-willed nature and spirit of integrity. It’s a good thing this book is the first of a series, because readers will be sorely disappointed when it ends.” — ALA Booklist (starred review)

Praise for AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: “The story introduces a world of enchantment, danger, excitement, and humor. While many parallels can be drawn between the protagonist and a certain boy wizard, readers will root for Amari’s own unique determination and wit.” — Horn Book Magazine

Praise for AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: “A breath of fresh air in the normal-kid-finds-out-they’re-magic genre, with Amari’s snappy, no-nonsense narration, a mix of new, bizarre supernatural creatures and classic vampires and witches, and rich world building that reads as both familiar and fantastic…. Readers will no doubt cross their fingers for more of Amari’s adventures.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062975225
ISBN-10: 0062975226
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: August 27th, 2024
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Supernatural Investigations